Joy in the Morning

Joy in the Morning

by David Jeremiah

Unless those days were shortened, no flesh would be saved; but for the elect’s sake those days will be shortened.
Matthew 24:22

The Great Tribulation will last three-and-a-half years, and not a moment longer. If this period of calamity were to last longer, no one would survive. For the elect’s sake, there’s a termination point; it will not go on forever.

That’s true of our current troubles, too. Sometimes we feel our problems have no end. There’s no light at the end of the tunnel, no dawn at the end of the night, and no joy at the end of our sadness. The psalmist expressed this when he cried, “How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily?” (Psalm 13:1-2)  But keep reading. By verse 5, the psalmist wrote, “I have trusted in Your mercy,” and in the final verse he exclaimed, “I will sing to the LORD, because He has dealt bountifully with me.”

In Christ, all our problems are temporary; all our blessings are eternal. Don’t give up. There’ll be joy in the morning.

O my soul, what need it trouble thee to have heaviness in the evening, so long as thou art sure to have joy in the morning?
Sir Richard Baker, seventeenth-century British writer, on Psalm 13

This entry was posted in Insights, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment